No 21

At a meeting of “Elizabethans” on Thursday 30th the following business was transacted:

Phillimore and Yates QSS (who had [receded?] from the club last half) were re-elected as members of the Elizabethan Club.

I That in future all members be entirely equal. No notice being taken of their position in the school. That the words “Townboy” & “Queenscholar” being considered unparliamentary (when used with reference to members of the Club) in order that jealousy between the two orders in the club may in some degree be put to a stop.

II That since all members are equal any member may be elected president (to the abolition that the original rule that a senior only might be president).

III That meetings be held once every month of oftener at the direction of the President.

E.R. Dowdeswell

   Prin. Opp.

*I find that on looking back the “Elizabethans” have not before been mentioned, so I will give a short account of the club from its first foundation. The club was started by some Q.S. in 1861 under the name of “The Bonding Bricks”. It was intended to be exclusively a Queen’s Scholars Club but by degrees one or two Town Boy’s were admitted, with simply a nominal membership since they had no role in any matter, were not permitted to hold any office in the club, or to propose or second any one a member. Things went on smoothly since we did not care for any of their honours and most of us alluded the dinner on Election Tuesday (101). The next lot of seniors however made a great change. The name was changed to the more gentlemanly one of ‘Elizabethans” & we were placed on the footing we now occupy as all equal.

Added by:

E.R. Dowdeswell

   Prin. Opp.

No 20

The Athletic Sports came off on Wednesday and Thursday the 22nd & 23rd October. The weather had been very strong for some days before, but luckily cleared up enough to let us have a good day’s fun. The running was much better than last year’s, the judging perhaps not quite so good. O’Brien Q.S. won the 3 best prizes.* (The mile, hurdle race, & a mile with hurdles.) Williams T.B. won throwing the cricket ball & hammer. Chepwel Q.S. won the high jump & jump with pole. Yates Q.S. long jump etc. etc. for further particulars inside “Athletic Sports Ledger.” (under the care of the secretary).

E.R. Dowdeswell

   Prin. Opp.

*Mrs Scott kindly presided at the presentation of prizes

H. Steward & E. O. Bernes Esqs. (Old West) officiated as starter and judge

No 18

At a meeting of the whole Upper School, it was determined that the “athletic sports” should come off this year, again, and the following were elected to act as the committee of management:

W. Phillimore (captain), E.R. Dowdeswell (Prin. Opp.), G.H. Pember Q.S, W.W.C. Lane Q.S, W. Hunt T.B, W.B. Besley Q.S., Q. O. Williams T.B.

The committee appointed, Phillimore Treasurer & President, & Lane secretary.

E.R. Dowdeswell

Prin. Opp.

No 17

The Townboy & Queen’s Scholars cricket march was played on Monday the 4th of August, which ended in favour of the Queen’s Scholars though our eleven played capitally. The T.B. went in first & made 60 runs to which total Hunt contributed 12 (the highest score). The Q.S. made 70 only, the highest score of the innings being 18 (Yates’). Dowdeswell T.B. for most catches (2). Chapman T.B. got the stumps for most wickets bowled (6). The elevens were as follows:

T.B. Q.S.
A.      Preston A.      White
J. Short J. Gates
W. Giles W.C. Lane
G. Dowdeswell E. Bird
G. Huwdenson W. Meyrick
J. Chapman G.T. O’Brien
W. Hunt J.C. Chefwell
H.N. Monk A.J. Mackey
B.N. Thomas A.      Downes
Q.O. Williams G. Pember
A.W. Hammon H. Walker

E.R. Dowdeswell Prin. Opp.

No 16

The Eton & Westminster eights oared match was rowed on Friday August the 1st. The day was all that could be desired. The rowing of both crews was admirable, though Eton as the result will show, was far superior to us. The crews were as follows:

Westminster:      st. lb.

Bow A.P. Dawson 9. 9

  1. A.J. Mackey 9. 10
  2. C.S. Bull 10. 1
  3. B.N. Thomas 11. 7
  4. G.L. O’Brien 10. 12
  5. W. B. Besly 9.  13
  6. W.H. Hunt 10. 4

St. H. N. Monk       10. 0

Cox H. Walker        6.   5


Bow A. Brassey     9.   8

  1. W. R. Griffiths 10. 8
  2. W. J. Treach 11. 7
  3. A. Pochin 10. 6
  4. R. A. Kingslake 11. 5
  5. J. R. Selwyn 10. 11
  6. H.P. Senhouse 10. 2

St. C.B. Lawes         10. 10

Cox Hon. C. Needham

The Westminsters took the lead which they lead as far as the London Rowing Club boat house, here Eton cleared them & kept increasing their lead, winning easily by 6 lengths. The race was rowed from Putney to Chiswick Eyot. Particular thanks are due to Mr Legham of Trin. Coll. Cam. for his unwearied exertions in “coaching” the Eight. Also to Mackey & Dawson who came down to row every evening, although they had left the half before.

E.R. Dowdeswell Prin. Opp.

No. 14

An extra master has been added to the staff named Lee Warren and all the forms have in consequence been altered […]. Marshall takes all the boys that were with him last half year, both Remove & Upper Shell & there altogether are called the Remove. He sits in the new class room. James brings his two forms up to Marshall’s old place & calls them Upper & Under Shell. Then Warren has two forms made up of the tag end of the Under Fifth together with the Upper 4th which are called the 5th. Andrews takes the two 4ths & Serwin has nothing to do but look after the Mathematics. This is a great benefit to the lower forms since last half year the under 4th had no regular master, but trusted as if it were to luck which master it had.

E.R. Dowdeswell

Prin. Opp.

June 21st

No 13

When Thomas T.B. (captain of the water) asked Scott leave to go as usual to Putney with the right to train for the Eton v. Westminster race, he (Scott) flatly refused leave for the present, & said he would consult with the other masters as to whether he should give leave at all this year. Thomas showed him the absurdity of supposing that an outrigger could go on down here etc. but Scott with his usual obstinacy would not hear him. I have no doubt that he will eventually accede to our wishes, but if he does not the sooner we win to Eton to put an end to the match the better.

June 20th

E.R. Dowdeswell

    Prin. Opp.

NB Scott has at last given leave & the eight go up to Putney every night.

E.R. Dowdeswell

June 23rd