No. 189

The T.B & Q.S cricket match was played up fields on Monday, August 4th & to the surprise of all ended in a victory for the Q.S by 5 wickets, the TBs had seven fellows in the first eleven. The following were the elevens


  T.Bs   Q.Ss
In the 1st eleven J. B Dury (Capt.)   H. S. Otter (Capt)
In the 1st eleven R. P. McKeand 1st 11 E. H. Alington
In the 1st eleven N. C. Bailey 1st 11 E. Waddington
In the 1st eleven E. Roller 1st 11 K. B. Otter
In the 1st eleven H. J. Roberts 1st 11 W. C. Ryde
In the 1st eleven P. Tatham   F. Whitehead
In the 1st eleven R. J. Boyd   W. C. Aston
  A. A. Jackson   J. H. Watson
  A. H. Lefroy   R. W. Mead
  D. Arbuthnott   C. Dawson
  E. A. Horne   W. A. L. P. Evans


Roller got the T.B. money for a score of 25 runs & H. Otter the Q.S. money with 40 runs (two chances). K. Otter got the wickets, & Dury the ball.

H. J. Roberts Prin. Op.


No. 187

On the 23rd of July we played Charterhouse at Vincent Square. They went in first & only obtained 60 runs, Rawson’s bowling proving very effective. We then “handled the willow” & scored 135, of which Alington Q.S obtained 43 in first rate style. Charterhouse in their second innings reached 58, so we won the match by an inning & 17 runs., which was very credible as we had only two of last year’s eleven, vis Rawson & Dury. “Some little dissatisfaction was quietly felt at the Carthusians” (Standard) at Rawson playing as he had left at Whitsuntide, but it is always a rule that seniors who have left at Whitsuntide play for us the next term.

H. J. Roberts. Prin Op.

No. 172

There was no Charterhouse match this year on account of that school being moved to Godalming, so instead we played the M.C.C at Lords & were beaten in the first innings by over 200 runs. The disgraceful conduct of some of the younger townboys present at this match must not be passed over without mention. Some of these specimens of Westminster took it into their heads that they could not leave the Pavilion without leaving their traces behind them, so they proceeded to break some of the chairs placed on the roof & also some of the slates on the top, they then amused themselves by throwing the pieces of slates about & succeeded in breaking one or two windows, & finally one of them turned on a watertap; this was not discovered till next day when an indignant letter was received by the Captain from the M.C.C, stating that 50£ damage had been done & mentioning that this was the first time a Public School has so disgraced itself. Of course great indignation was felt about it amongst the fellows in the VIth & Remove, & a large number of fellows would have been tanned but the matter got to Scott’s ears & he contented himself with handing the two principal culprits; if the matter had become have been public it would, without doubt, have done Westminster an immense amount of harm. I am happy to add that no Grantites were concerned in the row.


No. 171

The T.B & Q.S cricket match took place last half at Vincent Square, when the former won by 9 wickets. Dury got the townboy score with 45 runs. Rawson got the Q.S score with runs. The following is a list of the elevens.

T.B.                                                                                            Q.S.

H. S. Jackson W. S. Rawson
C. P. McKeand F. G. Randolph
J. Harvey H. D. S Vidal
J. B. Dury E. Waddington
J. Bruce E. H. Alington
E. A. Crowdy W. C. Ryde
R. P. McKeand J. H. Watson
N. C. Bailey F. Whitehead
W. B. Webb W. Brinton
A. H. Lefroy H. A. C. Rogers
H. J. Roberts C. J. R. Le Mesurier


Rawson also obtained the wickets & the ball. The dinner was supplied by Mantle up fields, the scorers, as usual, were present.

H.J. Roberts

No. 152

The T. B. and Q. S. match this year was decided by the first innings in favour of the Q. S. there was no time for the second inning to be finished as McKeand (C. P.) made 84 for the Town Boys or the result might have been different. Trollope (T. B.) got ‘the ball’, R. P. McKeand got the ‘T. B. Money’ and R. W. S. Vidal the Q. S. and the wickets.

A.P. Hill.

No. 151

On Wednesday July 19th there was a whole holiday (with the exception of school fr. 8-9) for the ‘Busby dinner’ &c Charter House match, which was played at Lords & which resulted in an easy victory for the Westminsters. On the account of last years match the total absence of old Westminsters is mentioned but this year there were very many of them on the ground. Vidal scored 54 and his bowling was fortunately very good.

A.P. Hill

No. 139

The T.B. and QS match resulted again this year in a victory for the QS in the first innings.

Q. S. T. B.
1.       H. E. Rawson 1. R. M. Curteis. capt
2.       Dyce 2. Jackson
3.       Gilbertson 3. Saunders
4.       W. S. Rawson 4. Trollope
5.       Northcote 5. Pemberton
6.       Stephenson 6. Noyes, C.
7.       Randolph 7. Noyes, F.
8.       Vidal 8. Bailey
9.       Webb 9. Carter
10. 10. Mackeand Q. P.
11. 11.


Oswell Macleay

Prin. Opp.

No. 128

The Town boy and Queen Scholar match this year resulted in a victory for the QSS.

The Elevens were

Q. S. T. B.
Barron                                          (captains) Curteis
Wakley Pemberton
Wace Shackle
Dixon Saunders
Vidal Noyes
Northcote Bedford
Rawson, H. G. Bailey
Rawson, H. E. Jackson
Rawson, W. S. Gadsden
Saunders Worsley
Randolph Noyes