No 391

(Aug 9th)

On Friday the race for the silver rudder (vid. No 281) came off. Six boats entered, but only 3 were on station viz

Evered (1)
Wright (2)
Cox Waters

Steward (2)
Galloway (1)
Cox Southey Jun.

Henty (2)
Hammond (1)
Cox Horne

The course was from Battersea to Westminster. Steward’s boat took the lead: but Wright’s was picking up and was ½ a boat’s length in advance of Stewards when a foul took place the fault of Steward’s boat. We (Wright’s boat) might have claimed the prize, but as Steward seemed dissatisfied we agreed to pull again on Saturday (10th) This race …[ing] by came off between the … Steward’s boat took the lead, and we did not get ahead the whole course. At Westminster bridge a barge was across the arch which we had intended passing thro’ & of course we lost much by it. We were picking them up fast when they came to Hungerford about ½ a boat’s length ahead of us thus winning the race.

Everard Evered Prin. Opp.

No 375

An upper shell boy (Whitaker) having challenged a sixth form boy (Evered) to row him a sculling match, in fun, the race came off in earnest on Monday April 28th. They moved in light [fairings] from Westminster to Vauxhall bridge. Whitaker took his lead, but came in about twenty boats length after Evered. Another race of the same description (although a better contested one) took place between to fifth form boys Hammond & Galsway in which Galsway was the winner by five or six boats lengths.

W.C. Macready
Prin. Opp.

No 360

The second eight received a challenge from a four chosen out of the eleven, to race them from Battersea Bridge to Westminster (B.). It was accepted and the four of the eleven!!! was beaten by seven or eight boats length. The race took place upon the 22nd of June: the boats were arranged as follows.

1. Marryatt Q.S.
2. Blagden Q.S.
3. Armitstead Q.S.
Stroke 4. Stokes Q.S.
Cox Balfour Q.S.

1. Bennett Q.S.
2. Browne
3. Madan Q.S.
4. Williams Q.S.
5. Browne
6. Somerville Q.S.
7. Steward
Stroke 8. Milman
Cox Twiss

W.C. Macready
Prin. Opp.

No 272

The Queen Scholar and Town Boy Heads of the Water having proposed a race between the Town Boys (in the 5th and 4th) and the Minor Candidates it was arranged that they should race in the heavy 4 oared boats belonging to each from Vauxhall to Battersea. The Townboys were victorious by a great deal, but it being resolved that another trial should be made they again raced from West. Bridge to Battersea and the result was as before in favour of the Townboys: The crews of the 2 boats were as follows:

T.B. Crew
Goodenough jun. Stroke


M.C. Crew
Rich jun. Stroke


W Spurway
Prin. Opp.

No 144

In consequence of the accident mentioned in the preceding number Williamson sent round the following regulations about the water.

1st No boy is allowed to go on the water except in one of Robert’s boats, and with his permission or knowledge – and if a boy has a private boat he must keep it at Roberts and use it only when he (Robert) thinks proper.

2 The bounds are from Westminster to Hammersmith bridges

3 The Season is from Easter to Bartholomew Tide

4th No boy may stay ashore anywhere, but he may take refreshments down to the boat.

5th The boats when done with should be left at Roberts’

E U Sealy
Head Boarder

No 37

On Friday evening July 13 (1821) a rowing match took place between 2 four oard’s : The under-school of Grants having challenged the whole of the remaining under-school to row with them from Battersea Bridge to Westminster Br[idge]. The match was won with ease by the Grantites. The names of the rowers were as follows.

From Grants                                                                                       From the other houses

Hume                                                                                                              W. Forester

Fothergill                                                                                                       C. Forester

Hotham                                                                                                          Lloyd

Pentland                                                                                                         Dyott

William Heberden