No 40

On Tuesday July 31st (1821) The Annual Cricket match was played between the Town-boys and Kings scholars: the latter beating by upwards of a whole innings. The dinner followed as usual, in the fields, to which the scorers were invited. The names of the players were as follows

Town-boys                                                                         Kings scholars

Rocke                                                                                  Partington

Congrieve                                                                          Dodgson

Ellis                                                                                     Smedley

Gresley Jnr                                                                        Ley

G. Forester                                                                        Gresley

Lydiard Jnr                                                                       Eden

Amherst Jnr                                                                      Page

Emmett                                                                              Amherst

Page Jnr                                                                             Wakefield

Sam Tryon                                                                         Sanders

Jordan                                                                                Markham

William Heberden Prin. Opp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *